Imagine decolonizing the law – what would happen?

7.6.2018: Im Schlüterhof des Deutschen Historischen Museums (DHM) warte ich gespannt auf den Beginn des interdisziplinären Symposiums „The Stone Cross from Cape Cross – Colonial Objects and Historical Justice“ und fange an mir auszumalen, was wohl passieren würde, wenn N´Jadaka, einer der Hauptprotagonisten aus dem afrofuturistischen Hollywood-Blockbuster ‚Black Panther‘ (2018), durch die Glaskuppel des Schlüterhofes steigen würde. Ziel seines Unternehmens: die Rückführung der Säule von Cape Cross[1]. Nach der (fiktiven) Rückführung der Vibranium-Axt, aus dem (fiktiven) „British Museum“ (jhuexhibtionist 2018) nach Wakanda wäre dies seine zweite ‚illegale‘ Rückführung. Einerseits amüsiert mich die Vorstellung in die entsetzten bis schockierten Gesichter der 350 nationalen und internationalen Gäste (DHM 2018) zu blicken, andererseits fange ich, mit Blick in das Symposiumprogramm an, über die Möglichkeiten der Dekolonisierung des nationalen und internationalen Recht nachzudenken.

 width=Abbildung 1: Ralph Gross‘ Begrüßungsrede im Schlüterhof des Deutschen Historischen Museums (DHM). Foto: Souad Zeineddine.

Den Auftakt des Symposiums gestalteten Raphael Gross (Präsident des Deutschen Historischen Museums (DHM), Monika Grütters (Deutsche Kulturstaatsministerin) und Andreas Guibeb (Botschafter von Namibia). Der Fokus der Begrüßungsreden von Gross, Grütters und Guibeb lag auf der Relevanz der Debatte über die Rückführung kolonialer Objekte aus ethnologischen Museen Europas. Alle drei Redner*innen betonten die Notwendigkeit, Wissen und Diskurse über den deutschen Kolonialismus auch in Deutschland verstärkt im öffentlichen Bewusstsein zu verankern. Ebenso waren sich die Auftaktsprecher*innen einig, dass die Diskussion um die Säule von Cape Cross es nicht nur möglich mache, danach zu fragen, was historische Gerechtigkeit ist und sein kann, sondern auch das Potenzial für eine politische Debatte um historische Gerechtigkeit in sich trage. Allerdings unterschieden sich die Beiträge von Gross und Grütters dahingehend von Guibebs Beitrag, als dass Gross und Grütters implizit den Diskurs der deutschen Erinnerungspolitik um eine Erinnerung und „Aufarbeitung“ des deutschen Kolonialismus erweitern wollen und damit Kolonialismus als etwas in der Vergangenheit liegendes verhandeln. Dagegen wurde in dem Beitrag von Guibeb deutlich, dass die Debatte nicht nur vergangenheitsbezogen geführt werden kann, vielmehr beträfe sie auch die Gegenwart und Zukunft. Neben vielen weiteren spannenden Beiträgen zu Fragen von Gerechtigkeit in der Zeit (Lukas H. Meyer), zum umstrittenen Reiterdenkmal in Windhoek (Goodman Gwasira) und zu Fragen über den Zusammenhang von musealen Objekten, Erinnerung und Identität in Namibia (Jeremy Silvester) waren es vor allem die Vorträge „Die Säule von Cape Cross und das Völkerrecht“ (Sophie Schönberger) und „Daniel Karikos Widerstand in Cape Cross“ (Dag Henrichsen), aber auch der Publikumsbeitrag der ruandischen Journalisten Arelette Ndakozy, die in die euphorische symbol-politische Stimmung der Auftaktsprecher*innen intervenierten.

Dag Henrichsen kritisierte den primär symbolisch-politischen Charakter der Veranstaltung, die mit der Säule von Cape Cross ein Symbol kolonialen Machtanspruchs ins Zentrum rückte, anstatt sich den für die lokale Erinnerungskultur bedeutsameren Objekten zu widmen. Als Beispiel erwähnte er die noch immer in Dresden in einer Vitrine gezeigten Ahnenstäbe der Herrero (vgl. auch Habermalz 2018). Trotz seiner Kritik an der Auswahl des im Zentrum der Tagung stehenden Objekts stimmte Henrichsen Ralph Gross in dem Punkt zu, dass die Tagung einerseits Ausganspunkt und auch Basis für weitere Debatten um die Restitution von kolonialen Objekten sein sollte und sich andererseits mit historischer Gerechtigkeit auseinandersetzen müsse. Ich bin jedoch der Meinung, dass die Debatte mitnichten an diesem Punkt stagnieren darf. Sie muss vielmehr im Sinne einer transgenerationalen (Meyer 2003 und 2005) und dekolonialen historischen Gerechtigkeit die Mauern der ethnologischen Museen und der Institute der Ethnologie bzw. Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie verlassen und beispielsweise in die rechtswissenschaftlichen Institute Einzug halten:

7.6.2018: Sophie Schönberger ist eine interessante Sprecherin; sie spricht mit ihrem Beitrag „Die Säule von Cape Cross und das Völkerrecht“ eine Ebene der Debatte an, über die ich mir bisher noch nicht sonderlich viele Gedanken gemacht habe. Überrascht von der subtil artikulierten postkolonialen Haltung Sophie Schönbergers fange ich an mich zu fragen, worin die politische Brisanz der Rückführungsdebatte aus juristischer Perspektive besteht? Denn schließlich höre ich Sophie Schönberger gerade sagen, dass die Veränderung der rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen zur Vereinfachung der Rückführung von kolonialen Objekten auch eine politische Entscheidung sei…
Aber zurück zur Säule von Cape Cross.

In Bezug auf die Säule von Cape Cross erläuterte Schönberger nicht nur den komplizierten juristischen Rahmen der Rückführung im Allgemeinen sondern wies darüber hinaus besonders darauf hin, wie kompliziert sich die juristischen Rahmenbedingungen der Rückführung von kolonialen Objekten mit sogenanntem geteilten Erbe darstellen. Des Weiteren machte Schönberger deutlich, dass in der Debatte zwischen der juristischen und der moralischen Gerechtigkeit unterschieden werden müsse und verweist auf die eurozentrischen westlichen Rechtskategorien wie beispielsweise das Eigentumsrecht: „The indigenous groups the artefacts were taken from did not always have a tradition of property rights that corresponds with Western legal ideas“ (Schönberger 2016: 47). Auf eben diesen westlichen Rechtsideen basiert u. a. die UNESCO Weltkulturerbekonvention von 1972, die Nationalstaaten dabei helfen soll, ihr kulturelles Erbe innerhalb nationaler Grenzen zu beschützen (van Beurden 2018; Schönberger 2016: 46). Bei der Frage nach einer juristischen Antwort auf das moralische Dilemma, in dem sich die Akteur*innen der Rückführungsdebatten befinden, weist Schönberger auf zwei weitere Komplexitäten hin, die mit der westlichen Idee des Rechtssystems verwoben sind. Zum einen sei der Faktor Zeit in dem Sinne ein Knackpunkt in den Debatten, als dass die UNESCO Weltkulturerbekonvention von 1972 nur auf Objekte und Artefakte, die nach 2007 erworben wurden, also dem Jahr in dem die deutsche Regierung die Konvention unterschrieben hat, anwendbar ist. Obwohl es etwaige Transformationen im internationalen Recht gegeben hat, bleibt das Problem, wie das Beispiel Deutschlands zeigt, dass die Gesetze nicht rückwirkend anwendbar sind. Zum anderen ist der Nachweis des Besitzverhältnisses und die daran geknüpfte Idee von Eigentum inkommensurabel mit den häufig kollektiv verfassten Eigentumskonzepten indigener Gruppen (Schönberger 2016: 46).

Die Diskussion, die sich nach Sophie Schönbergers und Lukas H. Meyers Vortrag entfachte, machte deutlich, dass in den Debatten um die Rückführung von kolonialen Objekten nicht nur die Objekte selbst im Zentrum der Verhandlungen und Aushandlungen stehen. Vielmehr werden in den Debatten um die Rückführung von kolonialen Objekten und die Rolle von ethnologischen Museen — „als Orte(n) zur Ausbildung einer partizipativen Staatsbürgerschaft“ (Juneja 2018) — mal explizit, mal implizit Aushandlungen über nationalstaatliche Identitäten geführt, die an Fragen des kulturellen und finanziellen Wertes von Objekten geknüpft sind (van Beurden 2018). Die Konzepte der Staatsbürgerschaft und Nationalstaatlichkeit sind wiederum Konzepte, die innerhalb eines westlichen Rechtsrahmens Individuen, als Staatsbürger*innen gedacht, zueinander in juristische Beziehung setzen und gleichzeitig auch zum territorial definierten Nationalstaat. In diesem Sinne gibt es juristisch geregelte Beziehung zwischen Individuen untereinander, zwischen Individuum und Staat und zwischen Staaten. Allerdings werden in diesem nationalen und internationalen Rechtsdenken juristische Beziehungen zwischen Staaten und indigenen Gruppen (Nama und Herero in Namibia beispielsweise) innerhalb eines Staates und über Staatsgrenzen hinweg nicht berücksichtigt (Schönberger 2016: 45).

 width=Abbildung 2: Museumsszene aus Black Panther 2018.
Youtube: Hochgeladen von iFilm 23.3.2018.

In Sophie Schönbergers rechtswissenschaftlicher Perspektive, populärkulturell aber auch in der Museumsszene des Spielfilms „Black Panther“ (2018), werden nicht nur die inkommensurablen Eigentumsvorstellungen im Hinblick auf koloniale Objekte und Artefakte deutlich, sondern auch, dass die Frage nach historischer Gerechtigkeit weder in der Anerkennung und Aufarbeitung vergangenen Unrechts enden sollte, noch nur auf die kulturpolitische Ebene verbannt werden darf. Vielmehr bedarf es einer dekolonialen emanzipatorisch-spekulativen Auseinandersetzung mit den theoretischen und praktischen (Un)Möglichkeiten der Etablierung eines dekolonialen  Abkommens. Ein Abkommen, das den ehemaligen kolonialisierten Territorien einen rechtlichen Anspruch auf die Rückführung von kolonialen Objekten und Artefakten, ohne den Verweis auf die Problematiken von Zeit und Eigentumsrecht, zuspräche.

Im Nachgang des spannenden und erkenntnisreichen Symposiums erscheint es mir so als fände ein durchaus berechtigtes Schulterklopfen der beteiligten Akteuer*innen in Hinblick auf das schon Erreichte statt. Ja, ich war überrascht von der Tatsache, wie viele Menschen Interesse an dem Thema zu haben scheinen. Der symbol-politische Charakter, als Indikator für das zunehmende politische Interesse an der nationalstaatlichen Anerkennung des deutschen Kolonialismus, ist in Anbetracht der Präsenz der vielen Pressevertreter*innen und des nachfolgenden Pressspiegels kaum zu verkennen. Das Thema deutscher Kolonialismus scheint nicht mehr nur ein Anliegen postkolonialer Theoretiker*innen unterschiedlichster Disziplinen und postkolonialer rassismuskritischer Aktivist*innen zu sein. Allerdings haben mir die spekulativen und imaginären Momente gefehlt und damit die Möglichkeit, Museen als multitemporale Orte zu denken, die sich nicht nur zu ihrer kolonialen Vergangenheit und damit ihrer historischen Verantwortung positionieren, sondern sich auch ihren linearen Vorstellungen von Zeit und Zeitvermittlung stellen. Fragen historischer Gerechtigkeit dürfen nicht nur in die Vergangenheit verlagert werden, es muss auch nach der historischen Ungerechtigkeit in der Gegenwart gefragt werden, die sich, meines Erachtens auch in der als hegemonial etablierten westlichen Rechtstradition zeigt. Wie bereits oben dargelegt sieht die westliche Rechtstradition keine juristischen Beziehungen zwischen indigenen Gruppen und Nationalstaaten vor, was die Rückführungsprozesse von kolonialen Objekten ungemein erschwert. Denn die bestehenden Konventionen sind zum Teil auf die zurückgeforderten Objekte gar nicht juristisch anwendbar. Eine Rechtstradition, in der es aber eben doch möglich wäre, internationale Abkommen aufzusetzen, die den ehemals kolonialisierten Menschen einen rechtlichen Anspruch auf die Objekte gewährt. Das würde aber den Konsens aller am Prozess involvierten Staaten verlangen, was Schönberger gegenwärtig für unrealistisch hält:

„International treaties could undoubtedly establish legal claims for sovereign states to reclaim cultural objects that were removed from their territory in colonial times. However, such treaties would require the consent of all states involved in the restitution process. At the present time, such a consensus is unlikely to arise” (Schönberger 2016: 46).

Mit Blick auf die gegenwärtigen politischen Entwicklungen auf lokaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene ist solch eine Aussage nicht sonderlich verwunderlich. Dennoch frage ich mich, wieso nicht? Was wären die politischen Implikationen? Wofür würde ein Präzedenzfall geschaffen werden? Was wären die Implikationen für eine nationalstaatlich organisierte Welt, wenn juristische Kategorien wie beispielsweise Staatsbürgerschaft, Nationalstaat oder Eigentum dekolonialisiert würden? Auch die Beiträge von Juneja und Van Beurden in diesem Blog machen deutlich, dass die Debatte um die Rolle und Funktion von Museen nicht nur auf das koloniale Erbe der ethnologischen Museen beschränkt bleiben kann. Vielmehr entblättern sich im Verlauf der Debatte um das Humboldt-Forum die multiplen verwobenen Ebenen, die die Wirkmächtigkeit kolonialer Spuren bis in die Gegenwart nachvollziehbar machen. In der Hoffnung, multiperspektivische Antworten zu erhalten, bleiben die Fragen: Ist ein dekolonialisiertes Rechtssystem vorstellbar? Was wäre ein dekolonialisiertes Rechtssystem vor allem in Hinblick auf die hier erwähnten Konventionen und das deutsche Kulturgüterrückgabegesetz?

Souad Zeineddine ist Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow an der a.r.t.e.s. Graduate School for the Humanities Cologne. Im Rahmen des Programmes a.r.t.e.s EUmanities global promoviert Souad Zeineddine aus einer dekolonialen Perspektive zu Fragen von Standardisierung, Regulierung und Infrastrukturierung in Hinblick auf die Hafeninfrastrukturen von Durban, Südafrika. Nach ihrem Masterstudium der Transkulturellen Studien (Universität Bremen) erhielt sie ein Brückenstipendium der Forschungsverbundinitiative Worlds of Contradiction der Universität Bremen. Des Weiteren ist sie weiterhin mit der WoC-Verbundinitiative, sowie dem Bremen NatureCultures Lab assoziiert.

Literatur:

Buchwald, C. (2018): Die Wappensäule von Cape Cross – drei Länder, drei Geschichten, eine Vergangenheit. In: Deutsches Historisches Museum. Geschichte(n) aktuell [Weblog]. Online Publikation http://www.dhm.de/blog/2018/06/06/geschichten-aktuell-die-wappensaeule-von-cape-cross-drei-laender-drei-geschichten-eine-vergangenheit/ [Last Access: 23.6.2018].

Deutsches Historisches Museum (8.06.2018): Raphael Gross, Monika Grütters, and Andreas Guibeb yesterday opened the symposium on ‘The Stone Cross from Cape Cross – Colonial Objects and Historical Justice’ The start of a new event series, ‘Historical Judgement‘, at the Deutsches Historisches Museum [Pressemitteilung] https://www.dhm.de/fileadmin/medien/relaunch/presse/presseinformationen/Pressemeldungen_2018/180608_PM_Opening_The_Stone_from_Cape_Cross_DHM.pdf [Last Access: 23.6.2018]

Habermalz, C. (2018): Koloniales Erbe. Die Säule von Cape Cross. http://www.deutschlandfunk.de/koloniales-erbe-die-saeule-von-cape-cross.691.de.html?dram:article_id=419907 [Last Access: 23.6.2018]

Haughin, C. (Feb. 2018): Why museum professionals need to talk about Black Panther. [Online] https://jhuexhibitionist.com/2018/02/22/why-museum-professionals-need-to-talk-about-black-panther/ [Last Access: 23.6.2018]

iFilm (2018): The Black Panther (2018). Museum Scene. Youtube, 23.03.2018, Web, 23.6.2018, in: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_Jn7itz9zA [Last Access: 23.6.2018]

Juneja, M. (2018): Was wissen wir, wenn wir sehen? Oder: Wie können „Welt“-Museen die kulturelle Geografie erneuern? Ein Blick aus den staatlichen Museen zu Dresden. In: Wie weiter mit Humboldt´s Erbe. Ethnographische Sammlungen neu denken [Weblog], 28.Juni.2018. Online-Publikation: https://boasblogs.org/de/humboldt/was-wissen-wir-wenn-wir-sehen/#more-1518 [Last Access: 29.6.2018].

Meyer, L. H. (2005): Historische Gerechtigkeit. Berlin/New York: Walter de Gruyter.

Meyer, L. H. (2003): Intergenrational Justice. In: Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. [Weblog] 3.04.2003. Online-Publikation: https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/justice-intergenerational/ [Last Access: 29.6.2018].

Schönberger, S. (2016): Restitution or ethnological objects : legal obligation or moral dilemma? In: Deutscher Museumsbund: Museumskunde. Positioning  Ethnological Museums in the 21st Century, Band 81 1/16, S. 45-49.

Van Beurden, S. (2018): The pitifalls of ´shared heritage’: In. Wie weiter mit Humboldt´s Erbe. Ethnographische Sammlungen neu denken [Weblog] https://boasblogs.org/humboldt/the-pitfalls-of-shared-heritage/#more-1462 [Last Access: 29.6.2018].

––––

[1] Die Wappensäule vereint drei Geschichten und Narrative. Im 15. Jahrhundert, also während der portugiesischen Expansionsbestrebungen, diente die Säule als Markierung des portugiesischen Herrschaftsanspruchs. 1486 wurde die zur Debatte stehende Säule an der Küste des heutigen Namibias aufgestellt. 1893 wurde sie im Zuge der deutschen Kolonialisierung des heutigen Namibias von Gottlieb Becker zum Reichsmarinehafen in Kiel verschifft. Nun wird sie von der Regierung Namibias zurückgefordert (vgl. auch Buchwald 2018).

Imagine decolonizing the law – what would happen?*

*Translated by Jonathan DeVore and Julian Schmischke

7 June 2018: In the Schlüter courtyard of the German Historical Museum (DHM), I am waiting for interdisciplinary symposium “The Stone Cross from Cape Cross – Colonial Objects and Historical Justice,” to begin. I start to imagine what would happen if N’Jadaka, one of the main protagonists of the  Afrofuturist Hollywood blockbuster, ‘Black Panther’ (2018), climbed through the glass dome of the courtyard. The target of his operation: the return of the Cape Cross pillar.[1] After the (fictitious) repatriation of the Vibranium Axe, from the (fictional) “British Museum” (jhuexhibtionist 2018) to Wakanda, this would be his second ‘illegal’ repatriation. On the one hand, I am amused by the idea of looking into the faces of the 350 national and international guests (DHM 2018), whose expressions range from shocked to horrified. On the other hand, considering the symposium’s program, I start thinking about possibilities for decolonizing national and international law.

 width=Figure 1: Ralph Gross’ welcome speech in the Schlüter courtyard of the German Historical Museum (DHM). Photo: Souad Zeineddine.

The symposium was opened by Raphael Gross (President of the German Historical Museum [DHM]), Monika Grütters (German Culture Minister), and Andreas Guibeb (Namibian Ambassador to Germany). The welcome addresses by Gross, Grütters, and Guibeb focused on debates concerning the return of colonial objects from European anthropological museums. All three speakers emphasized the necessity of deepening knowledge and discourse about German colonialism in German public awareness, as well. The opening speakers also agreed that discussion about the Cape Cross pillar not only makes it possible to ask what historical justice is and can be but also carries the potential for real political debate about implementing historical justice. However, the contributions by Gross and Grütters differed from Guibeb’s in that Gross and Grütters implicitly wanted to expand German remembrance political discourse by including remembrance and “reclamation” of German colonialism, thus treating colonialism as something of the past. In contrast, Guibeb’s contribution made it clear that the debate could not be conducted only in relation to the past, but that it would also concern the present and the future. In addition to many other exciting contributions on questions of justice in time (Lukas H. Meyer), on the controversial equestrian monument in Windhoek (Goodman Gwasira), and on questions about the connection between museum objects, memory, and identity in Namibia (Jeremy Silvester), it was above all the lectures on “The Column of Cape Cross and International Law” (Sophie Schönberger), “Daniel Kariko’s Resistance in Cape Cross” (Dag Henrichsen), as well as comments by Rwandan journalist, Arelette Ndakozy, that contested the symbolic-political euphoria created by the opening speakers.

Dag Henrichsen criticized the primarily symbolic-political nature of the event, which, through the pillar of Cape Cross, focused on a symbol of colonial claims to power, rather than devoting itself to objects of greater significance for the local culture of remembrance. As an example, he mentioned the ancestral staffs of the Herrero, which are still on display in Dresden (see also Habermalz 2018). In spite of his criticism regarding the choice of object at the center of the conference, Henrichsen agreed with Ralph Gross in his point that the meeting should serve both as a point of departure and as a baseline for further debates on the restitution of colonial objects, while also dealing with historical justice. However, I believe that the debate cannot stagnate at this point. Rather, in the sense of transgenerational (Meyer 2003 and 2005) and decolonial historical justice, it must leave the walls of anthropological museums and sociocultural anthropology departments, and enter, for example, institutes for law and legal studies:

7 June 2018: Sophie Schönberger is an interesting speaker; with her contribution “The Pillar of Cape Cross and International Law,” she addresses a level of debate to which I have yet to give much thought. Surprised by the subtly articulated post-colonial attitude of Sophie Schönberger, I begin to wonder, what about the political force of the repatriation debate from a legal perspective? After all, I just heard Sophie Schönberger say that changing legal frameworks to simplify the return of colonial objects is also a political decision…

But

back to the Cape Cross pillar.

With regard to the pillar of Cape Cross, Schönberger not only explained the complicated legal framework of repatriation in general but also placed special emphasis on the complex legal situation for the repatriation of colonial objects within a context of so-called shared heritage. Furthermore, Schönberger made it clear that a distinction must be made in the debate between legal and moral justice, referring to the Eurocentric Western legal categories such as property law: “The indigenous groups the artefacts were taken from did not always have a tradition of property rights that corresponds with Western legal ideas” (Schönberger 2016: 47). It is precisely on these Western legal ideas, among others, that the 1972 UNESCO World Heritage Convention is based, which is intended to help nation states protect cultural heritage within their national borders (van Beurden 2018; Schönberger 2016: 46).

Considering a legal answer to the moral dilemma in which the actors of repatriation debates are involved, Schönberger points to two further complexities that are interwoven with the Western idea of the legal system. On the one hand, the factor of time is a core issue in the debates, as the 1972 UNESCO World Heritage Convention is only applicable to objects and artifacts that were acquired after 2007, the year in which the German government signed the Convention. Although there have been some transformations in international law, the core problem remains that the laws are not retrospectively applicable, as the example of Germany shows. On the other hand, proof of possession and the associated idea of ownership are incommensurable with the often collectively codified ownership concepts of indigenous groups (Schönberger 2016: 46).

The discussion that followed from Sophie Schönberger’s and Lukas H. Meyer’s lectures revealed that in debates about repatriation of colonial objects, it is not only the objects themselves that are at the center of proceedings and negotiations. Rather, debates on the repatriation of colonial objects and the role of anthropological museums – “as locations for the formation of participatory citizenship” (Juneja 2018) – are sometimes explicitly, sometimes implicitly, negotiated on grounds of national identities that are tied to questions of the cultural and financial value of objects (van Beurden 2018). In turn, concepts of citizenship and nationality are concepts that place individuals, conceived as citizens within a Western legal framework, in simultaneous legal relation to one another and to the territorially defined nation state. In this sense, legally governed relationships hold between individuals, between individuals and the state, and among states. However, in this national and international legal thinking, juridical relations between states and indigenous groups (Nama and Herero in Namibia, for example), whether within a state and across state borders, are not taken into account (Schönberger 2016: 45).

 width=Figure 2: Museum scene from “Black Panther” 2018.
YouTube: Uploaded by iFilm, 23 March 2018.

Sophie Schönberger’s legal perspective, but also popular culture adaptations such as the museum scene in the feature film “Black Panther” (2018), do not only highlight incommensurable notions of property with regard to colonial objects and artifacts. They also emphasize that questions of historical justice should neither end with the recognition and reclamation of past injustices nor be banished to the level of cultural politics alone. Rather, what is required is a decolonial emancipatory-speculative examination of the theoretical and practical (im)possibilities of establishing a decolonial agreement. Namely, an agreement that would grant formerly colonized territories a legal claim to the return of colonial objects and artefacts without reference to problems of time and property rights.

In the aftermath of this exciting and insightful symposium, it seems to me that the actors involved would be quite justified in patting themselves on the back, in view of what has already been achieved. Indeed, I was surprised by the number of people who seem to be interested in the topic. As an indicator of increasing political interest in national recognition of German colonialism, the symbolic-political character of the symposium can hardly be overlooked, considering the presence of many representatives from the media and the subsequent press reviews. The topic of German colonialism no longer seems to be only a concern of postcolonial theorists from a variety of disciplines and postcolonial activists critical of racism. However, I had hoped for speculative and imaginary moments from the symposium, and thus the possibility of considering museums as multi-temporal spaces that not only orient themselves to their colonial past, and thereby their historical responsibility, but also face how they convey linear imaginations of time. Questions of historical justice must not only be oriented to the past, but also to historical injustice in the present, which, in my opinion, is also evident in the hegemony of the established Western legal tradition. As already explained above, the Western legal tradition does not provide for legal relations between indigenous groups and nation states, which makes the repatriation of colonial objects extremely difficult. Indeed, some of the existing conventions are not even legally applicable to the reclaimed objects. However, it is also a legal tradition in which it would still be possible to draw up international agreements, granting formerly colonized peoples a legal claim to the objects. Having suggested that this would require the consensus of all states involved in the process, which Schönberger currently considers unrealistic:

„International treaties could undoubtedly establish legal claims for sovereign states to reclaim cultural objects that were removed from their territory in colonial times. However, such treaties would require the consent of all states involved in the restitution process. At the present time, such a consensus is unlikely to arise” (Schönberger 2016: 46).

In view of current political developments at local, national, and international levels, such a statement is not particularly surprising. Still, I wonder, why not? What would be the political implications? Toward what would precedent be created? What would be the implications for a world organized as nation states, if legal categories such as citizenship, nation state, or property were decolonized? The contributions by Juneja and van Beurden in this blog also make clear that the debate on the role and function of museums cannot be confined to the colonial heritage of anthropological museums. Moreover, as multiple interwoven levels of debate unfold through the Humboldt Forum, the efficacy of colonial traces in the present become more evident. In the hope of obtaining multi-perspectival answers, questions remain: Is a decolonized legal system conceivable? What would a decolonized legal system look like, especially with regard to the conventions mentioned above, and specifically the German law on repatriation of cultural property?

Souad Zeineddine is a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow at the a.r.t.e.s. Graduate School for the Humanities Cologne. As part of the a.r.t.e.s. EUmanities global programme, Souad Zeineddine is pursuing her doctorate from a decolonial perspective on questions of standardization, regulation, and infrastructure in relation to port infrastructures of Durban, South Africa. After completing her Master’s degree in Transcultural Studies (University of Bremen), she received a transitional scholarship from the Collaborative Research Initiative, Worlds of Contradiction, at the University of Bremen. Furthermore, she remains associated with the WoC network initiative and the Bremen NatureCultures Lab.

Literature:

Buchwald, C. (2018): Die Wappensäule von Cape Cross – drei Länder, drei Geschichten, eine Vergangenheit. In: Deutsches Historisches Museum. Geschichte(n) aktuell [Weblog]. Online Publikation http://www.dhm.de/blog/2018/06/06/geschichten-aktuell-die-wappensaeule-von-cape-cross-drei-laender-drei-geschichten-eine-vergangenheit/ [Last Access: 23.6.2018].

Deutsches Historisches Museum (8.06.2018): Raphael Gross, Monika Grütters, and Andreas Guibeb yesterday opened the symposium on ‘The Stone Cross from Cape Cross – Colonial Objects and Historical Justice’ The start of a new event series, ‘Historical Judgement‘, at the Deutsches Historisches Museum [Pressemitteilung] https://www.dhm.de/fileadmin/medien/relaunch/presse/presseinformationen/Pressemeldungen_2018/180608_PM_Opening_The_Stone_from_Cape_Cross_DHM.pdf [Last Access: 23.6.2018]

Habermalz, C. (2018): Koloniales Erbe. Die Säule von Cape Cross. http://www.deutschlandfunk.de/koloniales-erbe-die-saeule-von-cape-cross.691.de.html?dram:article_id=419907 [Last Access: 23.6.2018]

Haughin, C. (Feb. 2018): Why museum professionals need to talk about Black Panther. [Online] https://jhuexhibitionist.com/2018/02/22/why-museum-professionals-need-to-talk-about-black-panther/ [Last Access: 23.6.2018]

iFilm (2018): The Black Panther (2018). Museum Scene. Youtube, 23.03.2018, Web, 23.6.2018, in: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_Jn7itz9zA [Last Access: 23.6.2018]

Juneja, M. (2018): Was wissen wir, wenn wir sehen? Oder: Wie können „Welt“-Museen die kulturelle Geografie erneuern? Ein Blick aus den staatlichen Museen zu Dresden. In: Wie weiter mit Humboldt´s Erbe. Ethnographische Sammlungen neu denken [Weblog], 28.Juni.2018. Online-Publikation: https://blog.uni-koeln.de/gssc-humboldt/was-wissen-wir-wenn-wir-sehen/#more-1518 [Last Access: 29.6.2018].

Meyer, L. H. (2005): Historische Gerechtigkeit. Berlin/New York: Walter de Gruyter.

Meyer, L. H. (2003): Intergenerational Justice. In: Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. [Weblog] 3.04.2003. Online-Publication: https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/justice-intergenerational/[Last Access: 29.6.2018].

Schönberger, S. (2016): Restitution or ethnological objects: legal obligation or moral dilemma? In: Deutscher Museumsbund: Museumskunde. Positioning  Ethnological Museums in the 21st Century, Band 81 1/16, S. 45-49.

Van Beurden, S. (2018): The pitfalls of ´shared heritage’: In. Wie weiter mit Humboldt´s Erbe. Ethnographische Sammlungen neu denken [Weblog] https://blog.uni-koeln.de/gssc-humboldt/the-pitfalls-of-shared-heritage/#more-1462 [Last Access: 29.6.2018].

––––

[1] The heraldic pillar combines three stories and narratives. In the 15th century, during Portuguese expansion efforts, the pillar served as a mark of Portuguese claims to power. In 1486, the pillar in question was erected on the coast of present-day Namibia. In 1893, over the course of German colonization of present-day Namibia, Gottlieb Becker shipped the pillar to the imperial naval port in Kiel. It is now being reclaimed by the Namibian government (see also Buchwald 2018).